Regain Your Time.com Blog

April 4, 2009

Mastering Control Over Email & Twitter, Step 4

Filed under: Uncategorized — Maura Thomas @ 10:00 am
Tags: , ,

A couple of days ago I promised you 4 steps to conquering your email.  In the last few days, I’ve written about 3:  learning to controlling the information using a process, learning to control the technology, and learning to control your behavior.  They are easy in the sense that they are not complicated or difficult to execute.  But probably the hard part is going to be in changing your behavior.  That’s never easy.  But I promise you that it will introduce some peace and serenity into your life if you’re not constantly multi-tasking.

The 4th step is about easily sorting the important from the unimportant.  So of course you need a good spam filter.  If you are getting more than a few spam messages a day, you should look for another solution.  The technology has advanced and it’s worth spending some time on.  But in messages that aren’t spam, one of the easiest ways to sort the important from the unimportant is that probably the information that comes from a real human (friend, family, co-worker) is probably more important than “robo-messages” (coupons, newsletters, notifications, marketing messages).  Is that a fair statement?

Well some people use “rules” in their email client so that some messages automatically go into a certain folder.  This is one way to handle it, but personally I don’t like it.  It’s bad enough to see how many unread messages are in my inbox, if I had those high numbers in other mailboxes too it would stress me out.  Plus it wouldn’t be as efficient if I had to click around through a bunch of folders to see what needed my attention.  Also the concern there is that I never get around to looking at some of those folders, so my number of emails grows and grows, both stressing me out and perhaps causing problems with my email client.

There is now a much better solution to “robo-mails” and I think it’s the biggest time saver I have seen in a long time.  It’s called Otherinbox and if you haven’t gotten yourself an account yet, I suggest you visit now and get one “tout de suite.”

Tomorrow will be one more post on this topic, where I will expand a little bit about a topic I get a lot of questions about:  filing your email messages…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

